The New Dietary Guidelines (2016)

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services just released the dietary guidelines for 2015–2016.  The nation’s “best and brightest nutrition experts”, who pored over the scientific evidence, made the following recommendations:

Healthy eating selections include:

  • A variety of vegetables
  • Whole fruits
  • Grains, at least, half of which are unrefined
  • Fat-free or low-fat dairy
  • A variety of proteins, including seafood, poultry,
    lean meat, eggs, legumes, nuts, seeds and soy products
  • Oils

Healthy eating patterns limit:

  • Saturated fat
  • Trans fats
  • Added Sugars
  • Sodium

Samples of Health eating plans

The Healthy U.S. –Style Eating Pattern, based on lean proteins, whole grains, fruits, and vegetables

The Healthy Mediterranean-Style Eating Pattern focused on seafood, legumes, whole grains, fruits, and vegetables

The Healthy Vegetarian-Style Eating Pattern, which highlights low-fat dairy products, eggs, legumes, whole grains, fruits and vegetables

For more information visit http://health.gov/dietaryguidlines/